Conference 2019

Building and strengthening a responsible, responsive and relevant student counselling and support service.

What a superb conference this 40th celebratory conference has been!!

From the EMC side – a BIG THANK YOU to the COC and to the outgoing President, Lynne Malan, for organising and hosting this lovely, yet very productive and relevant event in the beautiful Eastern Cape.

DAY 2 was filled with very informative and interactive Papers and six Workshop participation opportunities. A highlight from this day was the Quality Assurance in Student Counselling Panel Discussion addressing numerous concerns and affording the opportunity for members to share their experiences.

After an evening of free time to explore the beautiful coast and picturesque town of Port Alfred, DAY 3 was kicked off with a valuable Panel Discussion on various institutions’ Student Mental Health and Emergency Procedures, affording opportunities to learn from and with each other, whilst strengthening networks of support.

Six posters were presented and members had the opportunity to engage with the presenters on their interesting findings. Various task groups were initiated by shared interest members, with the aim of collaboration and document construction.

New EMC members

From Left: Incoming President Dr Bunki Pitsoane, outgoing President Lynne Malan, outgoing PRLO Ilana Coetzee, incoming Administrative Coordinator Lekgowe Nono Thipe, incoming RTD coordinator Tobias van den Bergh, incoming President Elect Dr Joshua Ndlela, outgoing RTD coordinator Dr Henry Mason, Financial Coordinator Dr Saloschini Pillay, and incoming PRLO Lamese Chetty.

During the 40th Conference annual general meeting (AGM) of 2019 various topics were discussed, feedback provided and new ventures launched. This important meeting included the election of 4 new EMC office bearers:

It is with high expectations that the outgoing President Lynne Malan can hand over to the incoming President Dr Bunki Pitsoane.

Dr Joshua Ndlela was successfully voted in as the incoming President Elect, handing over his position as the Administrative Coordinator to Lekgowe Nono Thipe. Stepping in to the position of the Public and Regional Liaison Officer is Lamese Chetty, taking over from Ilana Coetzee, and in the co-opted position as the Research, Training & Development Coordinator Tobias van den Bergh is taking the reins from Dr Henry Mason.

Gala evening

The conference was closed on a high note with the 40th Gala Dinner celebration themed Afro-Modern.

Highlights of the evening included a personal final greeting from the outgoing President with the welcoming of the incoming President, the awards ceremony and a 40 year memories picture show narrated by one of the founding members of the organisation Dr Andre de Jager.

Congratulations to the following members for their hard work and achievements in these categories:


First place: Free State Region

Dual second place: Vaal North West Region and the Western Cape Region


First place: Ms Sithabile Ndlovu: Traditional Healing Practices: A study of University students’ perceptions and attitudes  

Second place: Matome Mashatola: The relationship between social justice and professional psychology training and practice: Synergies and contradictions

Third place: Obakeng Makgale: Exploring the meaning of informal social-alcohol consumption rituals in performing masculinity amongst male university students


First place: Gratitude, well-being and psychological distress among South African university students by Dr Henry Mason

Second place: Self-induced unclassified therapeutic tremors: An intervention model for student support by Celeste Treu

Third place: From 0 to +5: Exploring wellness among first-year students by Dr Henry Mason, Ane Craven, Megan Fredericks, Robyn Murray and Matilde vanNiekerk


First place: Visionboards: A neuropsychological approach to self-mastery by Dr Ruth Connelly and Sheri-Ann Pietersen

Second place: Dance as an expression of self: Dance Psychology as an alternative approach to conventional psychosocial interventions in institutions of higher learning by Simone Momple

Third place: Facilitating student personal development using a Positive Psychology-based group counselling approach by Dr Hanna van Lingen, Sheri-AnnPietersen, Lisa George and Charles Persence


First place: Paper 14: Wellbeing in the digital age: A literature synthesis by Dr Henry Mason

Second place: Paper 31: Through the looking glass: Theoretical perspectives on the promotion of student success by Dalray Gradidge

Third place: Paper 29: Violated bodies: Understanding gender and sexual-based violence in university spaces by Dr Phumeza Kota-Nyati

A special word of thanks to each and every member of SAACDHE for your membership, involvement, contribution, believe, excitement and vision for this organisation. SAACDHE is a member based organisation, existing by and for the members. We honour each active member for their valuable contributions in the past 40 years, here’s to the future of this cherished organisation.

Leave A Reply